Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Participles from the supine

Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2005
9:29 p.m.
I am still not well, a fact which is making the memorization of Latin passive endings rather tedious. I slept for several hours this afternoon, after having taught two good lessons and consumed too much leftover salmon pie for lunch (it had been leftover a very long time and I felt that it would not last much longer in its refrigerated state), and my eyes lost some of that �burning� sensation. But it is back, and my nose is also irritated from looking for children�s boks which I know are around here somewhere.

Patsy wants us to translate a children�s book into Latin this term and I know exactly the one I want to translate, The Magic Word, except that I cannot find it. I would never have thrown it out, since it was one of mine when I was a child, but its hiding place is unknown and refuses to reveal itself. This house is too big and we are too good at putting things away. On the other hand, we are lousy at putting things away and live in a constant state of clutter. But that is another story.

So I cannot find this book, or the ones that I know have been packed away with it, including another favourite, The Jolly Jumping Man, and I am severely frustrated and irritated from dust inhalation. I am also a little saddened because I think I have lost yet another friend, and I don�t know why.

It seems that diarists are leaving Diaryland in a great exodus for LiveJournal, including the one who got me hooked on this place. I just realized that she has taken me off her �friends� list, and is contemplating making her diary �friends only� (the equivalent of having a locked diary here but having given out the password to favoured individuals), which means that I would be excluded from reading it. I don�t understand. Hence my sadness.


from tcklyrpharsn :

Hey El, Don't be sad! I�ve not ditched you as a friend in real life. I thought you knew about that already... I remember commenting on it last September. I took you off because I was writing some pretty intense things about Mark, and I didn�t want anyone I knew in real life to read it and therefore judge me and Mark and our relationship and so on. There were things I needed to write (and sometimes still do) that i just didn't feel like sharing with people I actually knew. It�s one of the reasons I left diaryland, actually; I had four people on my list who knew me, and I didn't feel comfortable. So don't take it personally, please!!! xxxx.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>