Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Here we go a-wassailing!

Saturday, Dec. 26, 2009
4:43 p.m.
Happy Boxing Day, everyone! It’s suddenly calm in the house after a flurry of activity. Little Princess has gone off to play broom ball with friends, an annual Boxing Day event, and Buddy Boy is over at another friend’s, having been asked to dine with the family. Hubby and I are left with a fridge full of leftovers and a mess.

We ripped and tore yesterday morning. I think Buddy Boy did the best of any of us, partly because my mother-in-law always somehow hits it right with his gifts, and partly because Little Princess’ book that I ordered hadn’t arrived in the mail yet. Hubby did well. I got him new slippers and a digital camera, one with superior sound recording capabilities. He got me a necklace of a polished stone, very nice, books and videos. Buddy Boy gave me a scarf and glove set in peacock blue (I shan’t get lost in the snow) and Little Princess made all her gifts and presented me with a crocheted bolero sweater, which I absolutely love. She made her dad socks with a guitar on the ankle and mitts for her brother that open up to reveal the fingers. He was delighted.

We had our annual Christmas pizza and for dessert I made pumpkin pie from the Jack o’lantern. When I was mixing up the ingredients for the filling, I let out a mighty shriek, waking my daughter slumbering on the chesterfield in front of the fire, and cursed my son for only leaving me one egg. He had made an omelet for the family that morning, and the kids had made eggnog the night before, and my dozen eggs was reduced to one when the recipe called for two. I was already substituting low-fat milk for evaporated. So I made the pie with the one egg and it turned out delicious anyway.

During the baking of the Christmas pizza we had a grease fire on the floor of the oven, and I got to throw salt on it and put it out. It actually works. Woo hoo!

Tomorrow Little Princess’ BF joins us for dinner, so I’m making my Moosewood lasagna, but I thought I would substitute one cup crumbled chêvre for one cup of ricotta and mix in a healthy amount of pesto. I’ve never tried that before.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>