Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Procrastination fumbles

Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005
9:35 a.m.
It is once again income tax time in the Great White North. Whereas in the rest of Canada one fills out one tax form incorporating both federal and provincial taxes, in Quebec we fill out two, which is double the fun and fuss and bother. All my information slips are sitting in a neat pile on the other desk and I am avoiding it like the plague, simply because I hate doing my taxes. It�s easy, all I have to do is add long columns of figures and enter the results in the appropriate boxes on the T1 (or Rel�ve 1) form, write my cheque or apply for my refund, and it�s done. But I detest this job so much that I always leave it, every year, for the very last minute. Bad Elgan!

I have been playing with my profile lately, as many of you may have noticed, arranging my favourites� list into alphabetical order, adding or changing comments, and I noticed that the three movies I have listed are alone in all of Diaryland, i.e. no other diarist has them listed in his/her profile. Tell me, why would this be? They are: King of Hearts with Alan Bates and Genevi�ve Bujold, Singing in the Rain with Gene Kelley and Debbie Reynolds, and What about Bob? with Bill Murray and Richard Dreyfuss. Does no one other than myself deem them to be great masterpieces of the 20th century? These are movies that I have watched more than once and enjoyed each time, the first I would especially seek out when it was showing at repertoire cinemas, and the second we own as a laser disc (remember RCA�s early technology for digital movie watching?) and it has proven one of our most prudent acquisitions of all time.

My daughter, if I may boast a little, has been offered a job doing research for the summer at Bushop�s. She�s not even officially a student there yet (although I did write a cheque for her today to pay her acceptance fee--what is it with that anyway?) and the astro-physicist who got the millenium chair has offered her this position working with a 2nd-year student doing research in the field she wants to pursue. I think this is great. It sure beats working as a telemarketer. She is still waiting to hear if she is the valedictorian for her CEGEP graduation (apparently they�ve narrowed it down to two contenders) and just received her acceptance to another prestigious university in Ontario. I�m rather proud of my little girl.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>