Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Good night, Desdem0na. Good morning, JuIiet.

Friday, Nov. 25, 2005
10:50 p.m.
Tonight was spent attending the Bushop�s drama department production of Ann-Marie MacD0nald�s G00d night, Desdem0na (G00d m0rning, JuIiet). This funny play won the Governor-General�s award for drama and tells the story of a spinster university English professor and her conviction that the two plays, R0me0 and JuIiet and OtheII0, were originally intended as comedies, but somehow became tragedies because of the exclusion of the �wise fool� from the manuscript. She ends up falling through her garbage basket into both plays and solving the riddle while meddling in the plots. It was extremely well done and very entertaining. I am always amazed at how fine these student productions are. My very own Buddy Boy accompanied me, and was a great date. He�s such a cool kid. I am truly blessed to have such wonderful children. Truly.

The rest of the day didn�t prove as successful, however. I tried out the adapter I bought at the mall the other day, the one that is supposed to let me use my old Macintosh keyboard with my new Macintosh computer (4-pin parallel port to USB port), only to find that the male end on my adapter is for a 6-pin parallel port. Grr. This entails another trip to the mall (and, lest we forget, this is the pre-Christmas shopping season) to return said piece of computer/electrical equipment, and continue my quest for something that will work. You see, I use the arrow keys and the number pad when I input music, and on the old keyboards the arrow keys are in a nice straight row. On the new computers they are grouped differently, and I was developing a sore hand leading to tendonitis as I tried to move my middle finger between the up and down arrows. Hence my search for something that will allow me to hook the old keyboard up. Sigh.

I went to the studio recital at noon. It was all right. Hubby and I then adjourned to the Loft for coffee and found our very own Little Princess there, so we joined her for a bit. Now I am pleasantly tipsy on hot chocolate laced with orange liqueur, a combination I heartily recommend. Good night, Desdem0na. Good morning, JuIiet.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>