Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Life, death and laundry

Monday, May 26, 2008
8:14 a.m.
The weather yesterday was exemplary. Blue sky, sunshine, warm enough to go naked (although I didn’t), it was perfect. Next week is convocation at our particular ivory tower and one of our own, a recently-retired philosophy professor, is being awarded an honorary doctorate and giving the address. Another retired prof and his wife had a party for him which took place in their backyard and on their deck. I ate way too much and drank excessively as well and certainly did not need any supper (or any other food for the rest of the day, in fact).

There were five couples and two singles in total, and Hubby and I were the youngest ones there. At first I was talking with a couple of other women and the conversation was about who was sick and who was dying, and suddenly I said, “When I was a kid, my aunt and uncle would come over to visit my parents and all they would talk about was who was sick and who was dying. My brother and I couldn’t stand it, and now we’re doing the same thing!” However, after people had had enough to drink, the topics under discussion got sillier and more fun, which is I guess why grownups drink. It makes sense to me.

The couple hosting the party have a house in the country, a word which I have to use loosely since anything not in town is in the country around here. They own perhaps 30 acres, much of which is wild, but have an incredible view across a valley to the mountains of Vermont from the rear of their house. I wished I had brought my camera. It’s the kind of place one wants to show off to visitors, just for the natural beauty.

Yesterday was also the eighth anniversary of my father’s death. That’s a sobering thought.

Today has dawned rather dreary and rain is forecast. I guess I won’t be hanging out laundry.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>