Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Honking

Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007
8:57 p.m.
It’s been a honking long day. I have no idea why I’ve suddenly decided to use that adjective (actually in this case an adverb since it modifies an adjective), but if the shoe fits, then what the hey, eh? So, after going to bed at an ungodly hour (I think we’ve already discussed somewhere the fact that none of my hours are godly, so why this one in particular?) last night (i.e. early this morning) and looking forward to a nice long lie-in, the phone rang at ten to nine or so and woke me. It was my mom telling me that Buddy Boy had left her place and was on his way home. Well, that was really nice to know, but I didn’t need to hear it just then, and even though my mother realized she had wakened me and hung up, I couldn’t get back to sleep.

So I spent the morning with Little Princess, watching downloaded Avatar episodes on her laptop, putting on laundry, and trying to warm up my poor scratchy voice (late nights and vodka say it all) before the honking long rehearsal we had in the theatre this afternoon.

We went through the whole programme and then afterwards my small ensemble practised our quartet until we were comfortable with it. The theatre is a lot different acoustically from the concert hall where we normally have our concerts, and the problem lies in hearing each other and the piano. But I think we finally nailed it and it’ll be one of the high points in the show.

Our performance of Aftern00n DeIight went really well (I’m getting better at cutesey) and as I sat down after it was over, the strange girl who plays clarinet and was in my singing studio last year said to me, “That was really funny, especially cause we know it’s you.” Erm, what the fuck? Excuse me? Is it really pathetic that I’m a middle-aged woman (who can pass for much younger at a distance, which is how most people watching the show will see me) doing this number, singing about sex in the afternoon and at one point actually sticking my bum out and swinging it in time to the music where everyone can see it? I mean, the other girl dancing is doing exactly the same thing, but because she’s only 21 it’s different? I do not understand this girl. She is so far off the tact meter (if there is such a thing, and maybe there ought to be one) that she shouldn’t be allowed to speak, period.



Tomorrow we go to the polls to elect a provincial government. I still don’t know who I’m voting for.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>