Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pain � l�ail

Saturday, Mar. 25, 2006
10:00 p.m.
Last night�s concert was fantastic. The Mozart was to die for. Hubby�s piece was exquisite (the trio claimed they were out of sync, but I couldn�t tell where). They came back to our place where everyone changed into P.J.s and we had a pyjama party in the kitchen, eating tortilla chips and drinking red wine.

Today the artists went off to read through student compositions and conduct a masterclass while Buddy Boy and I stayed with the little boy. We ended up taking him to a cabane � sucre in the afternoon, a small operation conducted by some friends of mine, where they still collect the sap in buckets from taps nailed into the trees. We waited until our host had boiled some sap down to a thick syrup (230�F) and then poured it out onto freshly collected snow where it congealed immediately into tire which we scooped up with popsicle sticks and gobbled up avidly. I ate entirely too much of it and Buddy Boy asked me as we were leaving, �Hey Mom, are you okay to drive?�

Supper was a vegetarian lasagne I had assembled earlier in the day with my homemade riccotta and fresh spinach (in lieu of frozen which I was unable to find) and it was incredible. I also bought two baguettes, one of which was served plain, the other I split down the middle and smeared with garlic butter, then broiled for a couple of minutes. It disappeared very quickly, so quickly in fact that Hubby didn�t get any.

Tonight�s recital was given by the soprano of the great tracts of land. To her credit she wore a gorgeous dark green satin gown, strapless, which revealed absolutely no cleavage. She looked beautiful and gave a very fine performance with great stage presence and expression. She certainly has improved a lot since she first got here. However, there are still basic technical problems which drive me crazy. Her friends didn�t care. She got an enthusiastic standing ovation and was truly the star she seems to be.

Now I am exhausted and headachey, but can�t go to bed yet as our guests want to party down. I�ve developed some sort of chest cough which hurts, and I�m thinking a hefty dose of some sort of hard liquor might be indicated. I wrote a guest entry for coldandgray today, which you can access here. Enjoy!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>