Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Long drive, short visit

Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005
12:20 a.m.
It�s late, late, late, late, and I think it will be a while yet before I get to lay my head on a pillow and sleep the sleep of the weary. I arose at 6:30 this morning in order that we could drive to Shelburne, Ontario to see a man about a guitar. Yes, folks, you heard me correctly. Hubby has his eye on an arch-top that he is ordering from a well-known guitar maker, and this fellow in Shelburne owns the first of its kind. We left the house at 8:30, arrived at his place around 5:15 in the afternoon (we didn�t cross any time zones), had tea, coffee and Hubby played the guitar, then we got back in the car and drove another 45 minutes to his sister and brother-in-law�s place in Wasaga Beach. Supper was not served until 9:30, although I wasn�t suffering too badly, having dived into the cheese and crackers my sister-in-law had laid out for us.

I�ve had a little more to drink than is strictly speaking good for me, gotten into a few too many arguments with my brother-in-law (he provokes me, why else?), eaten lots and enjoyed the warmth of their hospitality. You choose your mate, but not his family, and sometimes you get lucky. With these particular in-laws, I sure did.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>