Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

To sleep, perchance in silence.

Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008
11:38 p.m.
I type this while experiencing a hot flash. The backs of my hands prickle. Heat rises from my cheeks and chest and back of my neck. I pile my thick hair on my head but it doesn’t help.

While preparing supper I started getting one and grabbed the soft freezer pack from the freezer, the one we use for icing sprains and tendonitis-afflicted joints, and laid it on the back of my neck so I could continue chopping vegetables. I hardly felt it there and it did seem to cool me off somewhat. When the flash was done, I put the pack back in the freezer and felt the skin hurting where it had lain. Amazing stuff, those hot flashes.

It cost $71.00 to fill the Volvo with gas today. I was driving to pick my brother up from the bus station and realized that we were riding on fumes, so I stopped at the first filling station I saw. Gah!

We got home, had a hurried supper, and then Little Princess and I took him to the Java where Hubby’s trio was playing. It was loud, very loud. I finally pulled out and inserted the old ear plugs. We coffeed up my poor, jet-lagged brother with a double espresso, and he had a wild look in his eyes. He had been up for at least 36 hours and has now gone to sleep.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>