Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sky rockets in flight...

Thursday, Jan. 25, 2007
7:18 p.m.
Yes, I know, Canadians have a way of trying to outdo each other when speaking of the weather and comparing local temperatures. Allow me to gloat a bit then, as it dropped to -25°C last night, or so, and the hot water pipe in the kitchen was frozen most of the day, not producing any actual water until the sun came around to the west side of the house and warmed the wall where it resides. I don’t understand why it’s the hot water that freezes. But it does. The temperature never rose above -14°C today, and I noted that the river was frozen over when I drove Little Princess to her 8:30 class this morning (the poor dear is sick and it was cold, so I put my winter boots on over my bare feet and my Kanuk coat on top of my bathrobe and pyjamas).

Later in the day I drove Buddy Boy to his old high school to drop off a form for his drama teacher to fill out, and thence to the college with a similar form for his film prof, followed by lunch at the Captain and a quick trip to the grocery store and the optometrist’s where I picked up my new contact lenses. On our way back we parked in someone’s driveway and took pictures on the bridge of the frozen river.

DSC00004

That’s facing southeast, upstream, and it was very cold. Don’t let that bright sunshine fool you.

After choir I found out that I have one big solo (“This is my bel0ved” from Kismet) and I’m in a small group where I actually get to sing and dance (Aftern00n Delight). Yay me! That is very cool.

Hubby has booked our spring break vacation. I’m a little worried, it’s at one of those Hed0nism resorts in Jamaica, with an optional nude beach. I don’t think this 50-year-old body is ready for that kind of public exposure. But the price was right and we’re going for two whole weeks. Apart from suffering extreme internet withdrawal, I think I’ll survive.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>