Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Working on a chain gang�

Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2006
6:04 p.m.
At writing group last night, Janice presented me with a bottle of red wine. She and her man had been at the Java on Friday night, but not seeing a donation receptacle and not wanting to leave without remunerating us somehow for our efforts, they provided us instead with a 2004 Valencia Tapeo, which the label assures me is a rich wine, ample en bouche (whatever that means), with the aromas of berries. Its delicate wooded accents and silky tannins marry well with red grilled meats, pasta dishes and soft cheeses. It has a unilingual French label and that�s the best I can do, guys.

I was extremely tired yesterday, given that I awoke at 5 a.m. with a sore throat that was still there when I reawoke with my alarm two hours later. I fixed my problems with the bank, which issued me a new debit card (and which meant that I had to completely reset up my online banking, which should not have been necessary), bought groceries and a special bucket so my cleaning lady can wring out the string mop she prefers to use. When I got home, we found that it was the wrong bucket, which means I have to exchange it. Damn.

Yesterday afternoon I taught, went to choir, came home, made a licketysplit supper, went out again to writing group and yawned my way through most of it. As much as I had been looking forward to it, I was just too tired and ill feeling to be really creative, although I did start some pieces that could bear with further working.

Today I still have the sore throat, but I also had Latin, where we finished translating the Daedalus and Icarus story and took up the rest of our homework on the subjunctive. Just reading back what I�ve written here, I realize that this has become a very boring entry and I don�t blame anyone for cutting out early. If you did make it this far, kudos.

I guess that means I�ll cut out early too. Sorry.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>