Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Well, it’s a good old car, though the clutch is a little loose.

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
9:20 a.m.
My 9:00 a.m. student cancelled this morning, which leaves me a wee bit of time before my next one arrives in order to get caught up a bit.

I have been sick since the day of the concert. It was just sheer nerve that got me through the performance itself, but since then I have been content to cocoon at home. Hubby went off to Florida and I spent all my time sleeping or playing on the computer.

That was until Monday when I met with my biology professor friend for lunch. The physical exertion of digging the Volvo out of the driveway really took its toll on me. Then the next day I had to do it all over again so I could get the car out to go to the university to teach. The snow plow had pushed all the white shit from the road back into the end of the driveway, and I had to deal with that as well as the porch and walkway so that the newspaper delivery people won’t break limbs and sue me.

After choir, as I attempted to leave the campus, the Volvo started effortlessly, then stopped with a cough and a sputter and refused to re-engage. Luckily, Ed was in the lobby of the music department and gave me a ride home, something I have done for him innumerable times.

I got the CDs from Friday’s concert from the young man who did the recording and listened to them after supper. I felt like crying. I hadn’t been able to hear myself during the show because the band behind me was so loud, and I couldn’t hear myself on the recording because the microphones in the hall never really picked up the speakers at the sides, from which my own voice was issuing. There are only two songs, really, which give any indication that it was me on vocals.

Hubby arrived home while I was listening to the concert after driving the two and-a-half hours from Burlington, VT. He reassured me that we could make a proper recording in Guy’s basement, if I really wanted to. That might be an idea. I really have no idea what I was doing onstage.

This morning we came in together in the Subaru and tried to get the Volvo going. It refuses. We tried jump starting it, but it’s obviously not the battery that’s having a problem. So I’m going to study for my Spanish mid-term tomorrow and Hubby is calling CAA to come and do their thing. He was hoping to get through this winter without another big repair bill on the old clunker, but it looks as though that is not meant to be.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>