Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Killing floor.

Sunday, Sept. 24, 2006
11:07 p.m.
Eyes burning, throat aching, nose running: No, I’m not getting sick, I’ just really tired, finished a rehearsal of all the blues rep without having sung in two days, and the Susie left her dander all over people and I’ve been reacting rather negatively to it. She is such an adorable little cat. She’ll park herself outside the kitchen door on the deck, and as soon as she sees she has your attention, she rolls onto her back and acts all vulnerable and cute. If we don’t open the door so she can talk to us through the screen, she will climb the screen door. It’s really quite amazing, the ability she has to support her entire weight just on her claws. Of course, there’s nowhere for her to go, so she ends up jumping down again, also quite an interesting acrobatic feat. I just wish I weren’t allergic to her.

It started out very warm this morning, around 20°C, I noticed it when I went out onto the deck to fill the bird feeder, and then later in the day it started to get very windy, finally raining. A friend from across town called to see if we still had power--we did--as his was out, which is very unusual since our neighbourhood is usually the first one to lose it. But we did experience several brown outs, which did not bode well.

The rehearsal tonight was a toughie. Our second guitarisit wasn’t there, but we went through everything anyway. I’m using my voice in ways that I would not normally approve of for my students, and it’s very tiring. For instance, I’m singing S0uI of a Man by BIind WiIIie J0hnson all in my chest voice, from G below middle C to the G above, and afterwards I’m exhausted. There’s another piece where I sing part of it in chest, almost talking, and then have to suddenly got to a D, fourth line, in voix mixte (it seems a little weird using those kinds of terms for singing blues), and I invariably break. So, this week will be spent in cleaning up the trouble spots.

Bed calls me. Nighty night!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>