Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Shine on silver moon.

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2007
10:28 p.m.
Wow, looking at the date, I just realized that Halloween is one week away. Hubby received an invitation to a costume party for Saturday night from one of his colleagues with whom he plays tennis (or is it squash?), so I get to dress up as a pirate once more. Arr, matey!

I made a date in writing group tonight to meet our only male participant for lunch on Friday. He is a high school teacher who will be attending a series of presentations at BUshop’s given by members of our education department dealing with students with learning disabilities in the classroom. B says that out of his grade eight classroom of 27 students, 24 have been diagnosed as having learning disabilities. What a challenge for him as a teacher! So I have told him we shall go for pho at the Captain. He’s game.

My young male drama student missed his lesson today, so I spent the time practising my own repertoire. When I got a chance to check my email, there was a missive from him asking if we could change his lesson time to tomorrow or the next day since he had to make up some tech time in the theatre. The time stamp on the letter was 1:45. I had been teaching at that point for 45 minutes. So I emailed him back and said no, I couldn’t reschedule for this week, and he really, really needs to let me know earlier if he can’t make a lesson (is this sounding like a broken record or what?), but if there is time left at the end of the term, I will try to fit an extra lesson in. [Insert rolling of the eyes here.] When I told Hubby about this, he thought I was very generous, even offering to try to make up the missed lesson. Yes, well, I’m reasonably certain there won’t be time, since we started so late in the semester.

It’s a waxing hunter’s moon apparently, the first full moon following the harvest moon in late September or early October. My husband says that it is going to loom large as it is at its perigee, the point in its orbit where it is nearest the earth. It certainly does look huge.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>