Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Catching up

Saturday, Nov. 24, 2007
3:44 p.m.
I am reprieved. My mother called yesterday and said she had changed her mind, she decided not to come visit here, and that she would take some of her clothes, now enormous on her shrunken frame, to a local dressmaker for alterations. I breathed a sigh of relief. I love my mother, and I will plan to visit her soon. Perhaps I will travel with Buddy Boy when he returns to school (they start a week before we do) and take three days or so to visit with my mom. It’s the least I can do. But for her to come when we are about to perform Messiah and get ready to leave on our week’s sojourn in warmer climes is not a good idea.

Hubby’s jazz trio performed on our concert series last night to a small but appreciative audience, as they say. I don’t know where everyone was. A handful of students was there, hardly any faculty, one retired prof, and a few townies. Not a great showing. They guys played really well, though. They should have filled the place. I don’t get it.

Afterwards, after the reception in the lobby, that is, we adjourned to our house, Little Princess’ BF and I having gone to the beer store for potables and the grocery store for munchables. Kevin O joined us eventually, after striking his drum kit, but the bassist (who totally rocked on his 7-string fretless bass) had another commitment. The rest of our guests were my daughter, her BF, and three of their friends, one of whom used to be her BF, his best friend, and Ed. The former BF and his friend were already blotto, having consumed a bottle of Jamieson’s between them during the concert, and were well into a bottle of rum when Hubby and I arrived home with his gear. Ed, who until very recently was a teetotaler, was drinking red wine and a little worse for wear. I had a beer, one single beer. Oh, and Hubby and three of the young men also partook of combustible materials on the back deck.

This set the scene for an evening of hilarity. The two drunks were incredibly funny. I wish I had been able to record their conversation because it was a riot. I finally ended up driving them and the BF home. He and I were in stitches in the car, as the two sots in the back seat kept up their inane banter all the way. I didn’t find out until today that one of them was actually trying to hit on me. It must have been pretty lame, because I didn’t even notice.

So, when I got back from driving those three, Ed was still there, not yet sober enough to drive himself home. Little Princess was tired and went to bed, and Hubby went downstairs to watch TV (I found out later that he passed out in front of it and awoke at 6 a.m. in the middle of an infomercial for rock-hard abs), which left me to sit with Ed until he was no longer over the limit. I made him herbal tea and gave him water to drink and made conversation until after 3 a.m. when I could finally push him out the door and go to bed myself.

The phone rang at 8 a.m., my neighbour thanking me or someone from my house for shooing her dog home last night (I don’t know what the fuck she was talking about), and she realized she had woken me and apologized, but then of course I couldn’t get back to sleep.

It was the bass player’s birthday today (he’s 49, which is what Hubby will be in a week), so we met him and Kevin for lunch (with Little Princess and her BF) at a bistro in town and bought them all lunch. That was really nice, actually, and we had a fun time. The waitress brought the birthday boy a decadent chocolate dessert which he divided into several pieces and we all tried some, and even just the tiny piece I had was enough to push me over the edge into sugar/fat overdose. It was amazing.

So now I’m ready for a well-deserved nap. Zzzzzzzzzz...

|

<~~~ * ~~~>