Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Black, black, black is the colour of this Friday.

Friday, Nov. 24, 2006
7:12 p.m.
I am still in my pyjamas, and supper is now past. I call it “pulling a Little Princess” since she has a habit of staying in her PJ’s all day. The only constructive things I did were a load of laundry, keeping the fire going, and making a delicious supper for Hubby and myself with snowpeas when I found out Buddy Boy wasn’t coming home. He hates things leguminous (although he’s all right with black and kidney beans, but that’s another story). I also sent off an email to the VP academic who chairs the committee to which I want to appeal my bad evaluation, and I arranged with my union rep to meet on Monday to discuss this and other matters further.

That actually sounds like a lot of stuff, but in there I played a lot of spider solitaire, read lots of diaries and other blogs, took a nap, and avoided both a studio recital and department meeting. The former was easy: I just didn’t show up. For the latter though, I telephoned and left a message 10 minutes before it was scheduled to start and thought up a lie, and thought it up fast, about having some kind of gastric bug, and so missed a meeting where my presence was totally unnecessary and probably unwanted, even though the chair asked, “Where’s Elgan?” Hubby told me all about it when he got home, and there was nothing on the table which affected me directly or music tutors at all. So, what the feck.

On the other hand, I did learn that the day following American Thansgiving is called“Black Friday”. Harri3tspy says it has something to do with being in the black (financially, that is), but it is just too depressing an expression. I imagine rather that since the holiday is on a Thursday, the day following, nominally being a work day, gets sucked into some kind of black hole because people (except retail, those poor suckers) just stay away from the office, or wherever. That sentence made little sense grammatically. I apologize. On the other hand, it could be called Black Friday because people go shopping in droves and end up covered with bruises before day’s end. To me it sounds too much like Boxing Day. I think I’ll pass.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>