Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pocky!

Sunday, May 25, 2008
1:11 a.m.
Friday: Little Princess’ birthday was a lot of fun. I made her an apple pie in lieu of a cake (that’s what she wanted) and we made sushi in the afternoon, her friends arriving to assist with the rolling. I also made a mess of snow peas in the wok with tamari, garlic and ginger. Everything was delicious. Then we went to see the latest Indiana J0nes movie, which was also a lot of fun, and her birthday was over.

Today the power cord (I kept misspelling it when I was chatting with a friend on MSN who asked me, “What is it with you musicians and your power chords?”) for my daughter’s MacBook stopped working totally, a short having fried and melted the plastic next to the end that plugs into the computer, so we made a trip out to the computer store to buy her a new one. But first we stopped at the jeweler to drop off my ring to replace the diamond I lost (that’s going to be rather pricey and I’m not even going for a first quality stone), then to get her new sunglasses, dropped into the oriental boutique and bought various and sundry (I totally embarrassed Little Princess by stripping down to my skivvies to try on a dress which ended up not fitting), and finally arrived up at the computer store. The cord cost her $111. She was not amused.

We continued to Costco where we bought three bags of cedar mulch for $15, the least I have ever spent at that place at one time, and then came home.

Hubby and I just got back from a birthday party for her and one of her friends whose birthday was the day before, and I had two beers and I’m totally finished for the day. Hubby is much worse off, having joined our daughter and her friends when they went next door to inhale noxious fumes from restricted substances. That’s all you really need know. I personally do not approve, but there’s not much I can do about it, so fuck it.

There was a baby at the party, a two-week old little boy who was just perfect. I admired his little ears which were so we well formed. Amazing. My daughter’s generation are becoming parents.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>