Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Life isn’t so bad after all.

Thursday, May 24, 2007
11:15 p.m.
I’m drunk, not terribly, but enough that I’ll be doing a lot of backspacing in the process of typing this entry. I ended up having a really great day, after waking thinking it was going to be as horrible as yesterday. I just got back from the Lion where I went with Little Princess and her friends to sit on the terrace and drink beer. It was absolutely gorgeous today, and tonight was no different, warm enough to sit out with just a light sweater or jacket, or in my case, a shawl. I love this kind of weather.

Anyway, Buddy Boy spent all morning online on my computer choosing his courses for next fall with the people at Y0rk, which meant that I couldn’t get my corrections done to the second movement. He wanted to drop off his resumé at the sushi place we were at last night, since they had a sign in the window that they were hiring, and they told him he should come back during business hours. So I said I would drive him out there (it’s a bit of a trek from where we live) if he wouldn’t mind me doing some errands on the way, and he was game.

After he dropped off the C.V. we crossed the street to the shoe store and I found a pair of sandals to replace the ones my sister-in-law gave me many years ago. They’re very ordinary, but perfect for my needs. This was followed by a drive across town to the jewellery store to see if my watch and bracelet were ready.

The jeweller, M. B0lduc, was quite glad to see me. My watch had been returned by the manufacturer, hopefully repaired and not about to fall apart again, and he had made the bracelet smaller and polished all the silver. It looks better than when I bought it. When I asked him what it cost for the alteration, he wouldn’t take any money. At all. He said that I was a good customer and he felt that it made up for the pain and suffering I had experienced over the watch. I was just flabbergasted. What a nice guy!

This, of course, called for a celebration, and Buddy Boy and I stopped for ice cream, after which we went home and I proceeded to fritter away the rest of the afternoon until Iit was time to make supper. Little Princess brought the keyboard player in her band home, and I made rice and tofu and sautéed broccoli and cauliflower, and then I went out with them to the Lion.

We met her BF there and another friend, and then were joined by more people, and ordered pitchers of beer and drank and joked and I felt like one of the guys. They treated me like one of the guys too, and I think it was sincere. But it’s late now, and I’m starting to yawn, and I have to buy groceries tomorrow and really, honestly, do those corrections, so I think I’ll proofread this and hit the hay.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>