Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

There is nothing new under the sun...or cloud.

Wednesday, May 24, 2006
3:54 p.m.
My computer is really sick. Now it no longer tolerates being left on, but after a period of inactivity freezes, either with a notification that Mac OSX has ceased operating and I have to restart, or the screen saver frozen in place, and all the fans running high. I just finished making preliminary corrections to the orchestra reduction of the viola concerto, printed it out for Hubby to proofread yet again, backed up my files onto one of those teeny flash sticks (who would have thought that 1 GB would fit on something the size of a pen-knife), and was considering taking the poor machine to the doctor right then and there, when I remembered that Buddy Boy was using it for school projects and maybe I should wait. I can always do my work on one of the shiny new iMacs the university bought for the music/fine arts departments, but what is mein Sohn to do?

Anyway, now that he is home from school (he was supposed to be at rugby practice and Hubby and I were supposed to be taking advantage of a kidless house), he has told me that it's all right, I can take it in tomorrow morning. I have no idea how long it will have to be at the 'puterpital (as bindyree so aptly called it), but I hope it gets well soon. I hate to admit how dependent I have become on this technology.

Apart from that, and that the sun came out for an hour this morning, and that I have wet cuffs on my sweatshirt because I didn't roll up my sleeves when I washed my face, and that I have gone back to using "ditto" marks for my apostrophes and quotations because the proper punctuation marks are showing up all wrong, and that I am hungry all the time, not a darn thing is new.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>