Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Salmon�flamb�

Friday, Mar. 24, 2006
7:12 p.m.
I did a terrible thing today, and I can only blame it on fatigue. This morning, as we were sending our guests out the door for another day of teaching and practising and rehearsing, I commented that yesterday everyone had been very perky and optimistic. Today, however, there was a difinite leadenness to our actions. We�re starting to wear down.

I met with Hubby before noon to make sure the set up for my afternoon Finale tutorial was going to be all right. He got a projector that worked and I used the administrator�s password to make Ad0be Acr0bat accessible on all the computers (for the help manuals). Then I attended the studio recital, which was a hoot. Two guitarists played together, the theme from Batman and Light my Fire by the D00rs, and they were so out of tune that it was a surreal experience.

Afterwards Hubby and I had 10 minutes to catch a bite to eat and then I went to the lab and gave my tutorial. I have decided that since everyone seems to be at a different level of Finale expertise, it would probably be better to hold sessions with smaller groups to go over individual problems and questions. I�m still not finished going over the basics; we still have to discuss formatting the pages, extracting parts, planning page turns, transposing horn parts, et cetera.

I came home and tried to sleep, but to no avail. Buddy Boy arrived with a couple of his loud friends, and I had to drive him back to his school for 5:00 p.m. for the battle of the bands which I am sadly unable to attend. Then I made supper, and here is where I made my almost fatal error. Dinner was barbecued salmon and trout, oven-fried sweet potato and saut�ed broccoli and carrots. When I put the fish on the barbecue I forgot to lower the heat, and Hubby looked out the kitchen window and said, �There�s a lot of smokin� going on!� My 10-minute timer went and I opened the barbecue to a conflagration. Flames leapt up and the underside of the fish was completely black. Luckily that was all, and it tasted good nonetheless. But I felt so incredibly stupid. I�ve never made that mistake before, and I likely never shall again.

Now I have to brush my teeth and get fancied up to go to the concert. It promises to be a good one.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>