Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m off to see the wizard...

Sunday, Feb. 25, 2007
12:24 a.m.
It is time to bid you all a fond au revoir as I prepare to shelve all internet and computer-related activities for the next two weeks. Today was spent packing, buying last-minute things for the kids or to take with us, and attending the symphony concert tonight where my husband’s most recent orchestral piece was played. It wasn’t as good a performance as the previous two, but it was still very exciting.

The other pieces on the programme were R0ssini’s WiIIiam TeII Overture, Respighis’s Pines of R0me (which was really very cool), and a piano concerto by Nin0 R0ta which proved to be quite fluffy and insubstantial. Buddy Boy leaned over to me between the first and second movements and said, &ldquo:It’s pretty, but it’s not very interesting.” That sort of summed it up.

The reception afterwards was quite crowded and I got to catch up with people I only ever see at the symphony: the Barbadoan boyfriend of the former board president, my friends the principal horn and flute players, the sound guy. I had a glass of wine and couldn’t stop yawning.

So now my bag is packed, I will set my alarm for 3 a.m. (which is only 2.5 hours away), we’ll drive to Montreal and then be on our merry way. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>