Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Not being there yet, just getting there.

Thursday, Feb. 24, 2005
2:27 p.m.
The double bass part just rolled out of the printer and I have shut down the old Quadra to give it a chance to cool off before I start making corrections to the score. Hubby has ascertained that if we miss the Pur0Iator pickup tomorrow (i.e. don�t make it to their building before 5:00 p.m.), there is a dry-cleaners on Boulevard Bourque where he can drop it off on our way to the airport and it will go out on Monday. While we�re hoping that this is not so, we might just have to do that.

So you�re all wondering: Airport? You going somewhere, Elgan? Well, yes, I am, as a matter of fact. Hubby and I are shipping the kids off to see their grandparents in Florida and he and I are taking the red eye to Port of Spain, i.e. Trinidad and Tobago, where my good friend j-leem has helped with the booking of accommodations and has promised to show us a rip-roaring good time while are there. I am very excited.

There is much to be anxious about, however. The kids are travelling to Fort Myers on one airline and returning on another. They get back on Thursday, will probably have to take the last bus from Montreal to Sh�brooke, arriving home after midnight, and will have to fend for themselves while we are enjoying ourselves under sunny Caribbean skies. I am so worried that they will screw up their connecting flight in Toronto, or that they�ll lose their passports, or miss the last bus home and end up sleeping in the Montreal bus station. Argh! How horrible!

In the meantime, corrections must be made to the score so that the printshop can make bound copies (11 x 17, enlarged from 8.5 x 11), and Brigitte is standing by. So, I�m off to make myself a cup of tea, finish the NY Times crossword puzzle, and then get back to work.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>