Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The stork is coming�

Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
8:49 a.m.
Today is the day the luthier brings Hubby�s new archtop guitar. This is very exciting. The original delivery date was mid-June, then as it appeared that Oskar was not going to be able to get all his projects finished on time the date got pushed farther and farther back. But today is the day. The guest room is ready, the bathroom (and all the disgusting red stuff that accrues on the sides of the toilet [it�s iron oxide, not blood] has been scrubbed away) is clean (the shower could be nicer looking, considering all the lime deposits on the glass), and I even turned the heat on down there so it wouldn�t feel clammy. I shall cook a fine dinner, we will crack open a bottle of wine and duly celebrate this new addition to our family. Oh, I almost forgot, we will also write a cheque which will impoverish us for a while. Why are men�s mid-life crisis toys so expensive?

The other exciting bit of news is that my girlfriend in St. John answered my email, albeit a little late because their PC had bitten the dust. I telephoned her and she invited all four of us to stay at their place on Thursday night. I am so excited! I haven�t seen her since her wedding 18 years ago and I have missed her terribly. Her son and mine should hit it off, being of an age, she has a 13-year-old daughter as well (we can inform her of all the fun stuff that is yet to come in that department) and even though her husband and mine probably have nothing in common, I'm sure they�ll get along just fine. She said over the phone that there is a whole part of her life that no one knows about and she can�t talk about with anyone, that part being where I fit in.

So, I am posting this early so that I can get on with my day which includes dying my increasingly graying hair, putting out the recycling and garbage (in our new bac roulant--grrr!), laundry, more cleaning, and cooking. There is a very small window of opportunity for Hubby to buy his cousin a wedding gift (can you believe he hasn�t done that yet?) at Lucy�s around the corner (she�s a very fine potter) between 4:30 and 5:15 p.m., and I have an appointment with Chantal at 8:30 this evening to get a trim of which I am in desperate need. There is also the consideration of what I will pack for this weekend. Hubby wants me to wear the purple Chinese silk dress I wore to the last wedding, and I must admit it looks fine, but I wore it to the last wedding, and even though it was a different crowd and no one�s seen it before, I�ve seen it before, and, well, you know� I will probably end up wearing the purple Chinese silk dress. Sigh.

Oh yes, that reminds me, we�re going to try to get away early tomorrow morning, so that means I will be incommunicado for several days. The plan is to drive back on Monday. Have a great weekend.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>