Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Things are looking up ... and sideways.

Thursday, Oct. 23, 2008
9:36 p.m.
Good news! The anti-inflammatory seems to be doing its job and the headaches have finally ceased. The neck is still stiff, but nowhere near as bad as it was before. I was in such a good mood all day because I was feeling so much better.

Also, the student of whom I spoke the day before yesterday didn’t show up for the lesson we had scheduled today (instead of the one she was supposed to have yesterday), so I called her only to get her out of bed. She has a terrible cold and has been missing classes and other engagements in an attempt to get well. Instead, we chatted and she sees that my point of view is valid and agrees that we should dispense with the songs I had assigned her and just stick to vocal exercises. I also suggested that we meet more frequently for less time, and she thought that was a good idea as well. So that is more or less resolved. I hope. I really hope we can make some headway because she’ll have to learn some repertoire for her jury in the spring.

In another ongoing story, today is my brother’s 55th birthday. Hubby asked me if I was going to call him, and I said no. He said I should. I said I wouldn’t. He said it was the right thing to do and I’m a nice person. My brother never calls me on my birthday. My brother doesn’t acknowledge my existence unless he absolutely has to. He wouldn’t sit down for a meal with me and my mother the day we moved her into the home last August, instead going home for lunch and to run some errands, meeting us at the restaurant afterwards. He wouldn’t even order himself a cup of tea. I am not calling him because I don’t want to wish him a happy birthday, but because he has made it painfully obvious that he doesn’t want to have anything to do with me; so for his birthday, why should I inflict myself upon him? See? I am a nice person!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>