Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All of the things you are�

Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2004
7:22 a.m.
Hubby and I learned a new tune last night: AII of the Things Y0u Are by Jer0me Kern. However, as easy as these tunes are to learn, I forget them almost immediately. I think this is a matter of repetition. As well, I am so used to not memorizing things anymore that, apart from the opening phrase, I don�t remember the words. It is fun though.

I think I made one mistake on my Latin test yesterday by not recognizing the ablative case and saying that the young man will write letters to the villa instead of in the villa. Damn. That�s anothother one of those things: when it comes to learning something new, I forget the stuff we learned weeks ago. Harrumph! You�d think I was getting old or something!

My two Tuesday students are wonderful, enthusiastic, willing to learn and and I enjoy both of them. Choir practice was long. Apparently the choir members all received emails from Herr Doktor Professor (I am not on his list, I guess) in which he informed them that practices from now until the show would be a good two hours long and they should clear their schedules to facilitate this. I�ve got to tell you, he�s a very funny guy and a very unorthodox conductor in my experience. After we do something right, he will shout, �You guys rock!� He admits that he has trouble keeping a beat pattern going and cuing everyone who needs cuing, so just watch people and count.

Our fearless leader has an undergrad degree in music, but was actually hired by the university to teach philosophy. He arrived here about the same time we did, maybe a year or two later. He�s a decent baritone and would occasionally sing in the choir when the former conductor had it, a woman who got it by accident one year and refused to relinquish it until she and her husband retired and moved to the other end of the country. In a dither of panic, Herr Doktor was asked on bended knee if he would take the choir, and he agreed, but just for one year. That was six years ago, I believe. He�s also found himself implicated in other musical events, such as the drama department�s production of HaIf a Sixpence last spring where he was the musical director and in other plays where some singing was required of the actors. He loves it and hates it. When he was on sabbatical he still continued with the choir. I�ve got to hand it to him.

Anyway, I just woke up, wandered downstairs and noticed that the computer was still on, which is why I am updating now. I better get to my other jobs or the world will end as we know it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>