Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Everyone just leave me alone, if you know what’s good for you!

Thursday, May 24, 2007
12:07 a.m.
I have been insufferable today. It has taken all my will power not to get in a fight with my husband. I find absolutely everything he does annoys me no end, and the terrible thing is that he is doing nothing wrong. It’s all me. I got my period on Monday after a hiatus of two and-a-half weeks (I thought the dong quai was supposed to keep that from happening), experiencing cramping and the most incredible bitchiness possible.

Every little thing irritates me. I even made Little Princess cry this morning (well, I didn’t do it all on my own). She woke up with a terrible crick in her back, probably from moving the telescope around last night, also getting her period (so many hormones in one household), and Hubby and I yelling at each other just put her over the edge, and it was her birthday. Poor kid.

After lunch, Hubby, Buddy Boy and I hopped in the car, me with my lips buttoned lest I start screaming, and drove out to the Centre d’achats King in order to buy a gift for the birthday girl. First we tried the jewellery store, but I determined after a quick look around that it wasn’t going to be found in there, then we tried a dress shop, but that was even worse. So we entered the Boutique Orient where we hit pay dirt. That place is amazing, full of the most god-awful kitsch imaginable.

One of the items Little Princess had on her list was a knife. She likes these things, probably because of her martial arts background. They had knives, swords, axes, all sorts of implements of destruction, and Buddy Boy was gawking like a tourist. Hubby simply could not bring himself to buy his little girl a utensil that looked like it could be used for disemboweling a hunting victim, so Buddy Boy said he would buy it for her (it was on sale and very affordable). Instead we found a really nice leather-covered wooden chest which we filled with fun stuff (the knife went in there too): three different flavours of pocky, four different aromas of incense, and a beautiful embroidered jacket that would look fantastic were she to wear it for a band gig (it was just a bit too big for me, which meant that it fits her perfectly).

The bakery next door had a chocolate mousse cake all ready, it just needed a “Happy Birthday, Little Princess” piped onto it, and we got everything we needed, one-stop shopping. I was rather proud of myself.

Supper was sushi. With the BF, we all headed out to a sushi place, placed our orders, and came home and ate our fill. This was followed by the cake and presents, then out again to see the new movie Hot Fuzz at a cinema in town (with French subtitles which I found incredibly distracting), but was nonetheless very entertaining. The boys loved it. My husband, of all people, thought it was a great movie. I wouldn’t go that far. It was fun and strange.

Anyway, I sincerely hope that when I wake up tomorrow morning I will not be this incredibly irritable person, that I will be human again, that every time my husband says something to me I won’t want to scream at him. I feel as though all I want is to crawl into a hole and eschew human company completely. I cannot become post-menopausal soon enough, thank you.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>