Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I love birthdays!

Monday, May 23, 2005
10:39 p.m.
�The time has come,� the Walrus said, �to speak of other things: of sailing ships and sealing wax and cabbages and kings and why the sea is boiling hot and whether pigs have wings.� I always thought that sealing wax was really ceiling wax, and I could never figure out why one would want to wax one�s ceiling. I still don�t have an answer for that one. If anybody does, please enlighten me.

That reminds me of a joke my son�s friend Gabby told while we were standing in line waiting to get into the movie the other night: How many bigots does it take to screw in a lightbulb? None! They don�t want to be enlightened!

And so the day draws to a close and I have had two glasses of wine (very good 1999 Cabernet-Merlot wine from the Henry of Pelham vineyards in the Niagara Peninsula) which have made me rather loquacious, or garrulous if you will. I have celebrated the 19th anniversary of my having become a mother, and now the reason for that event has gone off with her boyfriend to a party and I am left to exhale my alcoholic breath into the internet and you, my dear friends, get to inhale of my imbibement. So to speak.

Firstly we decided that dinner out was not going to work. On Mondays no decent restaurants are open in this city, especially not the kind (Japanese) that Little Princess wanted to eat at. So instead, after consulting with her, it was decided that I would prepare a nice meal at home of barbecued trout fillets (marinaded in Angostura teriyaki sauce), barbecued new red potatoes (tossed with canola oil, salt, pepper and parsley flakes) and saut�ed broccoli with minced garlic in olive oil. Hubby asked me if I had ordered a cake, a little detail which had totally slipped my mind (eep!), so I whipped up a recipe of double chocolate muffin mix in an 8"-square pan, and frosted it with part of a milk chocolate bar mixed with half a square of baking chocolate and a blob of butter, decorated with the last of the multi-coloured sprinkles I could find in the cupboard. Everything was delicious and a resounding success.

Dinner was fashionably late because I took Patsy to belly dancing class, which again was taken by the substitute teacher who really put us through our paces and which was again attended by only four students. Small class size definitely has its advantages, like very personal attention from the instructor. After dropping Patsy off I picked Little Princess and her boyfriend up from downtown L�ville and took them home for the above-described birthday feast. It was a very fine birthday party.

About a week ago I developed the pictures from the roll of film which was still in the camera when we came home from Trinidad, brought them home and promptly misplaced them. Tonight I found them and scanned a couple which I would like to share with you. The first one is Hubby and me at the K0blentz Inn where we stayed in P0rt of Spain, and the second is an incredible sunset on the evening of our leaving. Silhouetted against the blazing sky is j-leem�s little boy and me. Pretty cool, eh?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

|

<~~~ * ~~~>