Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

In the heat of emotion.

Monday, Mar. 23, 2009
12:32 p.m.
Last Thursday before choir practice, I was chatting with two of the older community-member altos, a retired high-school music teacher and a water colourist, about G&S. Just prior to my arrival in the Townships there was an active G&S society which put on annual shows, and both of these women had had starring rôles in them. Even though I have way more talent and training than either of them, I had to admit that, apart from a poorly-attended production of Mahagony which our new music ensemble mounted ten or so years ago, I have starred in no productions of that nature, ever, regardless of having auditioned for many of them. In high school I was the understudy to Yumyum. That was about as close as I got.

I mentioned this to Hubby at lunch just now and realized that it really bothers me. I am 52 years old and I am never going to have a starring rôle in a G&S operetta now, even with my youthful-from-a-distance appearance. It’s just not going to happen. And he said, “But you have other wonderful qualities,” and I countered, almost on the verge of tears, “They’re not enough, honey, they’re not enough!” before charging upstairs to write this down in the heat of emotion.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>