Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The way I feel is like a robin...

Friday, Jun. 23, 2006
11:33 p.m.
From the ad in the paper, I thought the new Superman movie was playing at Galaxie, but apparently it doesn't start until next Wednesday, so instead Hubby and I saw the movie Click about a guy who obtains a universal remote with which he controls his universe, or does he? Anyway, it was a good little cautionary tale, and Adam SandIer is adorable and very funny.

I took Buddy Boy to pick up his tux this morning and at the same time bought some silk shirts for Hubby (two for $70, not a bad deal at all), except that when I got them home and he tried one on, they were obviously way too big for him. So, the men's wear shop being not far from the cinema, we exchanged them on the way, and all is right in the world.

Buddy Boy is so handsome in his tux. What can I say? He and his sister are away for the weekend at a karate camp where they are both being tested for their next respective belts. Little Princess is going for brown and my son is attempting his first black belt. He has also decided that rugby is the sport for him, the team sport that is, which is a good thing, I suppose, if he doesn't get too hurt. He's small, so he won't be playing forward, and that's a good thing.

I've been getting a lot of headaches lately, more than normal. It's rather annoying actually. Sometimes it feels as though someone is carving his initials into my brow bone, right between my eyes, or I get spot headaches that feel like someone has applied an electric drill to a specific spot, or there is a man with a hammer inside trying to get out, or ones where there is a "flare" in one eye or the other. The latter, I am informed, sounds like a migraine, and yet I don't think I get migraines, considering that my mother used to get them and said she would have to sit in a dark room for three days. I have no idea what causes these things, whether it be fatigue, stress, changes in air pressure, hormones, or the fact that the presbyopoea has hit hard and fast with middle age. Usually a couple of extra-strength pain killers will get rid of them, but they do tend to be rather tenacious and it can take up to an hour for the drugs to work.

This sounds crazy, but my kids have been gone for six hours and I miss them already.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>