Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The party�s over.

Monday, Jan. 23, 2006
11:16 p.m.
Before the clock strikes twelve, and it is still officially my birthday, I suppose I should update and get this over with. Hubby saw an article in the paper which he left out for me, which I finally got around to reading in the afternoon after I came home between teaching and going out to belly dancing, about how not all affairs are sexual. He read it in the Gazette but I found two online links to it, here and here. In a nutshell, the columnist says that an affair can be emotional instead of sexual, and can undermine a marriage as much as a physical transgression can. The way this happens is when one partner becomes involved with an online �chat buddy�. I can understand my husband�s concerns, but I am not having an emotional affair. I would gladly share my online friendships with him and include him in them, but he has no interest in my invisible friends, will interrupt me mid-conversation as though it�s perfectly all right to do that when I feel that a typed conversation is no different from talking on the phone, and is jealous of the time I spend at the computer. There is no solution here. I am not about to give up my cyber social life, and he is not going to change.

Anyway, the rest of the day unfolded all right, I suppose. Latin was fun. We are still translating the Daedalus and Icarus story, and we started looking at our homework on the subjunctive. I had to eat my lunch all alone, which is rather sad considering that last term I had a whole group of young friends to sit with, and my two baritones did well in their lessons. Belly dancing was hard, as I was hungry and got rather dizzy from doing turns across the room, but it was nice to get back into it.

Hubby took me and the kids out to dinner at Da T0ni, our favourite Italian restaurant, where I ate the same thing I always have (filet de sole amandine) and we enjoyed a very nice bottle of Australian Shiraz. He presented me with a CD of Aretha FrankIin hits, and a beautiful gold necklace which I am presently wearing. It really is quite lovely. I ate too much and now have a stomach ache, but that�s par for the course.

In the other presents department, I got a water bug in lucite from Little Princess and a silky peignoir set from my mother- and father-in-law, opening the package while I was on the phone with them just prior to going out to eat. I also performed my civic duty today, casting my ballot in the federal election. I�ll wait for the results to appear in tomorrow�s paper. Politics bore me.

A rather disturbing thing happened on the way home from belly dancing, however. I stopped at the bank in order to get some money from the ATM to pay my cleaning lady tomorrow, and was informed that I could not make withdrawals with my card. I told Hubby about this when I got home, and he thought it was rather strange, and I had already made up my mind to go to the bank tomorrow and find out what was going on, when the phone rang and it was a call from someone at my bank informing me that there may be an illegal duplicate of my card floating around out there, and I should go to a branch during business hours and get a new one. Very very strange. I had my passbook brought up to date when I was at the ATM and there were no strange transactions on it, but I shall do what the man said anyway.

I think I�ve said enough now. Good night everyone.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>