Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Gnomes, fireworks and excruciatingly long car chase scenes.

Saturday, Feb. 23, 2008
11:47 p.m.
Hubby and I have returned from the cinema where we saw Vantage Point. It reminded me of many things: Memento, and Mars Attacks, especially that scene where the guy releases the dove into the air after the Martians declare, “We come in peace!” Yeah, you had to be there. Anyway, I can’t say I really liked this film. It was well done and all, but I found the subject matter very distasteful in that I have a problem with seeing bombs go off and people getting shot. I think you get my point.

However, when we parked our car in the lot behind the movie house, someone was setting fireworks off on the other side of the river and I made my poor husband stand in the freezing cold (and it really is freezing cold here) until I had had more or less my fill. I love fireworks and I missed all of them last year: Victoria Day, St-Jean-Baptiste, July 1, Friendship Day. So it was a treat to see them tonight.

Now, as I sip my hot cinnamon-apple tisane, I think I’ll go beat up some more gnomes for clockwork parts in The Thugnderdome before heading for bed.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>