Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The prodigal husband has returned.

Friday, Feb. 23, 2007
7:41 p.m.
After six hours of sleep (not enough), I awoke with my alarm (too early) in order to retrieve my long-departed husband from the bus station, only to have him call me at 8 a.m. as his flight out of Ft. Myers had been delayed, which resulted in him missing his plane in Toronto, spending the night at Pears0n Airport, and taking the next flight out. So I was able to have a bubble bath, put on a load of laundry, and play a few mindless games of minesweeper and spider solitaire (I actually finally completed one of the former) before bundling up against the cold and driving out to the terminus, where I arrived too early and his bus was punctual to the minute.

Hubby was sleepy after his night’s ordeal, but I must have been thoroughly distracted. We got home to an open garage door, which I had neglected to close on my way out, the inside door to the house having been unlocked that whole time (45 minutes) and bicycles and gardening implements exposed to all and sundry, law-abiding and criminally-intentioned alike. Fortunately, the cold weather keeps unsavoury sorts inside, so the house was as I had left it. However, once in the garage with the door closed, I was about to enter the house and Hubby noted that the car was still running. In my discombobulated state I had left the key in the ignition and not turned it off. What is with my head?

He had a rehearsal this afternoon (the symphony is playing his piece tomorrow night) and I made supper for him, Buddy Boy and myself, Little Princess having gone off to a band practice. We are now awaiting her return so we can go out, en famille to a movie, as soon Hubby and I will be enjoying golden sands and azure water without our bambini. But I’m sleepy and would rather stay in. *sigh* I’m such a good mommy.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>