Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Two wedding anniversaries and orchids

Sunday, Aug. 23, 2009
11:33 a.m.
Yesterday Hubby and I celebrated 27 years of blissful matrimony. I wish. The evening before we were invited over to the Duke and Duchess’ for dinner, the occasion not being our shared anniversaries, but my brother’s visit. When he first visited us in the Townships, a substantial 22 years ago, he met the Duchess and they immediately hit it off. Over the years they have remained friends, and whenever he comes to see us, she arranges to have us over. While Hubby and I are somewhat ambivalent, seeing as how we never get invited there unless Big Brother is here, the food is always good (the Duke is a gourmet chef) and we do have a good time.

That afternoon we rehearsed for our gig this afternoon (more on that later) and I was able to duck out early to buy a bouquet of flowers and a nice bottle of burgundy to bring them: flowers for their anniversary, wine for dinner. As expected, the food was non pareil and the visit was extremely pleasant, except for my allergy to their two cats, which was only modified slightly by the antihistamine I took just when I realized what I was up against.

Yesterday was pretty uneventful. Brother and I walked into town so I could buy milk, garlic, breakfast cereal and an anniversary card for Hubby. It was very hot and even more humid. I commented to him that I felt as though the air were a garment I was wearing, that I could feel the weight of it on my bare arms and legs.

When we arrived home, Hubby and I opened the gift my parents-in-law had given us a month ago, and then called to thank them for it. The contents were very strange: I received a white scarf printed with music notation and a piano keyboard “fringe”, a book, and a silvery brooch with rhinestones in the shape of an E. Hubby got tennis balls, socks, and a bottle of mint-flavoured cream hooch with a couple of glasses. He also gave me a Woody Guthrie CD to go along with the song book I got last year, and a beautiful potted orchid. I have been instructed to call the florist for care & feeding instructions.

Hubby, Brother, Buddy Boy and I then went to a bistro at a corner of Sh’brooke’s main intersection (some of you may know it) and had an early dinner on the terasse, followed by a movie. This was, of course, my husband’s and son’s pick; I would never have chosen such a film for our anniversary. We seem to choose the most inappropriate “date” movies, and this was no exception. While it was well done, funny in a very dark way, and thought provoking, it was also extremely violent and dealt with a subject matter which is probably politically incorrect by now. Oh well.

This afternoon I am the featured guest artist with the H0t Jazz Tri0, playing a concert in N0rth HatIey at a concert sponsored by the water association. I’m not sure what that is, but I’m not going to complain. So I am clean, dressed in a nice frock, my nails are painted, my hair curling as it dries, and if I get around to it, I’ll tell you all about it after the fact, since I can’t do it before.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>