Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Love is a many-splendoured thing.

Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
9:25 a.m.
I had a great anniversary yesterday. First of all, thanks to all of you who left me well wishes. It was really appreciated. Your compliments on my unchanged appearance were also appreciated. I owe it all to anti-aging skin-care products and my best friend, Lady Clair0l, and, as I told harri3tspy, I did change, but I�ve changed back.

First off Hubby got me a dozen long-stemmed red roses and a card (I gave him a card too). The roses are absolutely beautiful, but unfortunately do not smell good. What�s with this? Seriously! The more beautiful the roses, the worse the scent. We both remarked on it.

Anyway, moving on here, we set Buddy Boy the task of using the power spray-washer to clean the bird shit off the deck and then to clean the dirt out from the fancy wheels on the Subaru. We then retired to the bedroom to engage in some intimacy, which we were doing when Buddy Boy came running upstairs wanting his dad for some help. Hubby asked him what the matter was and Buddy Boy asked if he could come in, to which I called out �No!� Our son then said, �No problem, it can wait, take your time!� and went away. It caused us to break into peals of laughter. It turned out that the plastic hose coupler had broken. We might be able to glue it together or replace it. Not a big deal.

After I took a long bath we headed out to a restaurant, had a delightful dinner, and then went to see �40-year-0ld Virgin�, which was very funny and sent the message that you should wait to get married to have sex, boys and girls. So we went home to have more sex, only to be yelled at through the locked door because the kids couldn�t get into the bathroom to take out their contact lenses and brush their teeth. To their credit, however, they agreed to wait a while since it �was only once a year� that we had our anniversary. I hope they didn�t think that it was only once a year that we had sex. Buddy Boy did tell me once, though, that he didn�t like to think of his parents having sex, but he was glad we did all the same. Don�t I have great kids?

I forgot to mention that the package got sent off yesterday to the symphony office. Another interruption we had during the afternoon was the orchestra manager returning Hubby�s call. So that�s done. The performance is mid-November.

Today is shaping up to be a �cleaning� day. I wish I had a magic wand and I could just wave it and all the dirt and clutter would disappear. I also have to start practising singing again, getting my voice back in shape (as it has sadly fallen into disrepair from a summer of non-vocalizing, something that happens every year) and start learning these blues songs for our November 4 concert. I had the mix CD on in the car on Sunday when I drove to and from N0rth HatIey for a vernissage of photographs by a friend of mine, a retired geography prof, at the library there. The trick is to sound like Bessie Smith when I am a classically-trained soprano. Can I do it? Yes I can!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>