Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Where does my mind go when my body is asleep?

Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2008
9:26 p.m.
After dinner tonight, as I was sorting laundry from the basket onto our bed, my husband asked me, “Who’s Eric?” I don’t know all that many Erics. I have two second cousins with that name, I think there was a student in our department in the not-too-distant past called that, and I know one person online named Eric but to whom I have not spoken in a very long time. So I asked Hubby for some context and he told me that I called out the name “Eric” in my sleep last night. I have no recollection of this. I have no idea if this is an actual Eric whom I know or something my imagination made up whilst I was sleeping. It’s a huge mystery to me. But earlier, as I was chatting and playing spider solitaire, he asked me if I was having an affair. I wish I knew where my brain goes when I am unconscious.

The traffic light wasn’t working when I crossed the river to get to the campus at noon today, and it turned out the whole university was powerless (except for the backup generator providing emergency service). I met the student with whom I exchanged a blue T-shirt for a purple and she introduced me to her parents who thanked me for being not only a teacher to their daughter, but also a mentor. I never thought of myself that way. Apparently this girl found me very easy to talk to and confide in, something I’m not supposed to be allowing, but shit happens, and told her parents how great I was. It’s kind of sweet.

The electronic door locks were working, so I was able to let myself into the music building with my key card, but the computer was not. So I let myself out again with the intent of finding some lunch before my 2:00 p.m. lesson and I met Little Princess in the quad with her fellow physics students. They were supposed to present their lab results that morning, but were unable to since none of the projection equipment was working and they were all giving powerpoint presentations. Instead, their prof was treating them to pizza in the gazebo, and my daughter invited me to join them as they had ordered one vegetarian pizza. So I did.

By the time the pizza was delivered and eaten, the power was back on, so I returned to the music department, did my internet stuff there, and taught my mezzo her last lesson. I encouraged her to consider doing a music minor as I believe she has some talent. She really doesn’t know what she wants to do, but she said she’d consider it.

Then I went into town and remembered what I forgot last night, that I had writing group and totally blew it off. With an aspect of total sheepishness, I sought Janice out at her bookstore and apologized for my lapse. Only Patsy had shown up. I felt terrible. After all, I live for writing group! I promised I would be there next week, bought a couple of books for Buddy Boy (it’s his birthday tomorrow--shhh!), then went to the pharmacy to pick up a card for him and the bakery to order a cake.

My Latin assignments are finished (I still have to type them up and submit them to the prof via email), my marks handed in, I have one more lesson to teach tomorrow, and then it’s tax time. Once April is over, I can breathe a brief sigh of relief.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>