Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m hot, baby!

Thursday, May 22, 2008
9:05 p.m.
Once again I awoke early this morning, really early, around 4:30 a.m. (it was still dark) to be bathed in the stinging sweat of a hot flash. It was followed by several more, which meant playing the flapping-covers game. Hubby was snoring intermittently as well, making it impossible for me to regain unconsciousness. Then the dawn chorus began with a single bird call, the sun rose, and I also arose, sleep having been completely chased away by this time.

I played on the computer waiting for the rest of the household to stir, then promptly went back to bed after breakfast. I didn’t get up until 1 p.m.

In an attempt to save on gas, considering it is now $1.32/litre in my area, Hubby, Little Princess and I tried to accomplish a whole list of tasks in one trip. We drove out to the mall (the farthest point) where we purchased a present for Little Princess’ birthday tomorrow (a leather jacket, a really nice one at that) among other things, then went to Costco where I plunked down as much on groceries as the jacket had cost. On the trip homeward I paid for the registration for the car, we stopped at the international food store for some international food, thence at the fish market for sushi-grade tuna (the tanks were full of lobsters, all squished up, frantic for breathing space--it made me very sad), and Hubby left me off at the corner to pursue a personal errand while he and Little Princess spent another $200 or so at the liquor store.

Since the joys of menopause are upon me, certain things have changed, including the amount of moisture my body excretes in certain private places. You are not required to read further, you know, if this bothers you. You’ve been warned. So I entered L’extase, a commercial establishment with a sign on the door admonishing under-18-year-olds that they are not welcome, and I plucked up my courage to ask one of the ladies therein about products aiding in lubrication.

The store is amazing. I really didn’t spend any time looking around, but it is full of sex toys, underwear, shoes that must surely have been designed never to be walked in, all sorts of other clothing and things that I couldn’t identify, and lubricants. The maîtresse d’ spoke to me at great length about the differences between water-based and silicone lubricants, and I ended up getting one of the latter. It, too, was not cheap, but then they say you get what you pay for.

I ardently desire to sleep for eight hours tonight. It is my greatest wish that I not be awakened by yet another hot flash when the rest of the time zone is fast asleep. As much as I enjoy chatting with distant friends on the computer at that ungodly hour, I really need my sleep more.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>