Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Notebooks, beer and burpdays

Wednesday, May 23, 2007
12:28 a.m.
Most of today was spent proofreading the computer printout of the second movement, très dull. I did get to go to writing group tonight, which was not dull, except that I grabbed the wrong notebook on the way out of the house, not the one I’ve been using for the past several weeks, but one that had one line written in it. Now I can’t find the other notebook and I’m a little distraught about it. My cleaning lady was here today, did a fantastic job on the place, and I can’t find my notebook. Aieeeeee!

After that I popped over to the house of a friend of my daughter’s whose 22nd birthday it was (22 on the 22nd), intending to just stay long enough to give him his card and wish him a happy birthday. I ended up chatting with his mom for 30 minutes, drinking one and-a-half beers and having a really nice time. The hockey game was on (Ducks won) and I chatted with my baritone who is graduating about our favourite fantasy authors (we overlap quite a bit) and we both agreed that N0rton Juster’s The Phant0m T00lb00th is quite possibly the best book ever written. I didn’t get home until just before midnight.

In the meantime, it is my daughter’s birthday now, her 21st. She wasn’t even at the party, instead at the observatory “viewing”, as the conditions were good. Ashamedly, Hubby and I still don’t have a present for her and we’re not sure where we’re taking her to dinner tomorrow. Her BF told me tonight that he would come over, as she wants him included, and it will follow karate (which finishes at 7:30 p.m.), so we shall see.

In the meantime, I have to go pee.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>