Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m already paying to see the movie; why do I have to watch commercials as well?

Monday, Jun. 23, 2008
12:09 a.m.
Where do I begin? I insisted to Hubby that I update my diary before going to bed because I’d forget everything by the morning, so I’d better do that.

The afternoon in the orchard turned out to be quite nice yesterday. When I arrived, I must have had a stricken look on my face because a woman I like a lot, the widow of the ceramics professor at the college who also sings in the choir, asked me what was the matter, and I ended up spilling all my problems surrounding my mother and her house and her “boarder” onto her. She was very nice, very sympathetic, and offered me a shoulder and that was all. After that I started to perk up and ended up actually having a very good time. I even got up and sang a few tunes with the other musicians.

Today I finished backing up my diary onto my hard disk. My gold membership has run out and my comments page will become defunct shortly, I’m sure. My plan is to install Haloscan comments. In the meantime, you can leave me notes on my notes page. I’m cool with that.

Tonight Hubby and I went to see the second Hulk movie. It had chase scenes, exploding things, and scary monsters ripping up New York, as usual. At one point I turned to Hubby and said, “That’s Convocation Hall at U of T!” and it turned out I was right.

When we came out of the cinema the sidewalks were wet with recent rain and the illuminated billboards were covered with shad flies. I’m used to seeing them at the beach, not in the city, and there were thousands of them clustering wherever there was light. They are beautiful insects who have one mad night of passion before they lay their eggs and die. Life is like that.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>