Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Remembrance of things past

Thursday, Jun. 22, 2006
12:31 p.m.
This is one of those entries where I remember to note all the things I forgot before. For instance, the night before last Hubby heard scrabbling in the backyard, so we turned off all the lights in the kitchen and looked out and lo! there was a raccoon on top of the composter, having first removed the lid. I was concerned that the lid had fallen onto my freshly germinated basil sproutlets, so I went out onto the deck. The critter just looked at me, then took its time sauntering off into the pines.

Yesterday at the mall, when I was there with Buddy Boy, we moseyed into the leather store to feel the jackets and I noticed that the beautiful black suede dress that I bought for $129, which I thought was a good deal even at full price, is now on sale for $69.99. That bugged me a little. They even had my size there. Oh well.

Last night Perry the photographer came over with his standup bass and we worked through some of the jazz tunes we're performing at Janice and David's on Saturday. That was interesting. He doesn't read music at all and ended up taping everything so he could practise with it at home.

And last, but not least, today as I was driving into the supermarket parking lot, I noticed that the big tree that used to grace it is gone. There was a ramshackle building next to the curb which housed a laundromat. This tree shaded it, and when the building was taken down and the property it stood on paved over and amalgamated with the rest of the blacktop, the tree was carefully preserved in its own grassy area.

Carole, one of the checkout girls, told me that it was so severely damaged in Monday's storm, one side broken off, the other ripped out of the ground, that it had to be removed and carted off. But, she assured me, they will be replacing it with another tree. It won't be the same.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>