Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I feel nice�like sugar and spice.

Wednesday, Jun. 22, 2005
9:51 p.m.
Greetings! I am inebriated. For you this means probably not much. For me it means endlessly correcting typing errors since I am a stickler for that kind of thing, and no matter how drunk I am cannot let typos litter the pages of my cyber diary. Be that as it may, I will continue, in my drunken fashion, and explain that I have recently returned home from a ladies� night out, a double birthday party in fact, at the home of one of the administrators of the college, in the backyard where we consumed barbecued things (I brought tuna burgers for myself, but I could only eat one, so Lucy the potter ate the other and exclaimed repeatedly at its goodness because I had rubbed it with garam masala before leaving the house) and salads (someone, I think it was Dinah, brought seviche which was incredible, I could have made a meal of it alone and damn the tuna burgers), and three different kinds of cake for dessert (Lucy, Jan and I shared a plate of all three, and they were divine), and I had an excessive amount of red wine which I could justify because I WAS NOT DRIVING!

The two people celebrating birthdays were Vlad, who turned 58 on June 1, and a colleague of hers whose actual birthday was today (a tender babe at 36). Present were women from the college (many of whom I didn�t really know all that well) and other women from town, like Maureen, the retired public health nurse who came around when Buddy Boy was first born and Annie who is the administrator at the museum, and I had a fabulous time. We sat around outside, freezing our butts off as the sun set, so that Melanie (our hostess) brought out blankets and sleeping bags for us to wrap ourselves in. The party broke up at about 9 p.m. and Vlad drove me home. I know that I�ll pay for my overindulgence later when I try to sleep and can�t, but for now it was worth it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>