Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Whose notes these are I think I know�

Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005
11:00 p.m.
Hubby has gone to make me a latte. He has done the math (his expression, not mine) and figures that in order to get the winds and brass for the second movement extracted, we must stay up till 2:30 a.m. I have no comment. I will go to bed when it�s done.

The Latin test gave me a bit of trouble. The first sentence could have been translated: This feminine pronoun is a woman; that masculine pronoun is her husband. It made absolutely no sense to me, so I put several variations thereof on my test paper and I hope Patsy accepts one of them. I also did not know what ob meant, so I�m sure I mistranslated another sentence. I could barely concentrate. We learned the vocative mood today and the irregular verb �to go�: ire.

We were dismissed 20 minutes early, so I headed home to get some work done (I printed out Horn 1) and headed back to teach my 1:30 lesson. One of Gail�s singing students caught me and said that Steph had left me a note that she was totally stressed out and bagged, having written a theory mid-term that morning and having to make a presentation later. So I hopped back in the car and got Horn 2 printed out. I returned for my 2:30, who is recovering from various lung and respiratory ailments, and gave a lesson on Das Wandern by Haydn. This is a great little piece. I think Haydn�s vocal music is terribly underrated.

Since then, apart from making and eating supper, I have been working at the Quadra. I have many measures to go before I sleep.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>