Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

O Tannenbaum!

Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004
9:48 p.m.
Our Brumalia shrubbery is now gaily decorated and even has brightly-wrapped packages underneath it, presents from grandma and grandpa that we brought back with us at Thanksgiving. This tree is rather spindly, though, and it was a little dicey putting up all the decorations. Next year, hopefully, the getting of the sapin will not be left to the last minute. I�m reminded of the poor excuse for a tree in CharIie Brown�s Christmas. Ours is not quite that miserable, but it is nowhere as beautiful as the Fraser firs we�ve had the last couple of years.

The temperature rose to a balmy 2�C today. When I got the mail from the box, I wore only a fleece jacket instead of my Kanuk coat and felt not a bit cold. Later on the sun disappeared and freezing rain fell, making the roads rather slick. But it�s a darn sight better than the -26 of yesterday.

Hubby got a letter from a head hunter today for a humanities department directorship. He�ll apply, but I think a job in administration would finish him off. Even though I was complaining about not feeling completely at home here anymore, I�m not ready yet to pull up roots and move elsewhere. I do tend to get comfortable where I am. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>