Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pity me

Wednesday, May 21, 2008
10:35 p.m.
Lately the inspiration to write has been lacking. This is not good when I have set myself the task of updating this diary daily. Above all else, I do not want this to become a litany of mundane things, of tasks completed, errands run, the petty and pointless but necessary minutiae of daily life. Who needs that? That isn’t what keeping an online, public diary should be about. If I am encouraging strangers to read the pages that are my life, they should at least be entertaining, if not edifying.

There have been times in the past when I’ve expressed my doubts as to whether I should continue this thing. It was comments left by readers that encouraged me to keep at it. But readers rarely comment now. This is not just the case here, but over at my other blog on Xanga as well. I posted one of those “pity me” entries, in which I asked, “If I were to stop writing in this thing, would anybody notice?” The responses, eleven of them, were overwhelmingly positive. Only one guy said, “Did you say something?” Yeah, I was begging for attention, I admit it. But still, why bother with an online diary if there’s no evidence that anyone is listening?

All right, I admit I’m also guilty. I don’t regularly leave comments and notes for people, so maybe I’m just getting my own back. What goes around comes around, Right?

In the meantime, I wish it would stop raining.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>