Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Attitude. Who needs it?

Tuesday, Jul. 21, 2009
9:41 p.m.
Will wonders never cease? I just got an email from my brother that our mother is back in the retirement residence. I guess they realized that she was too well to be in a hospital. Thank goodness for that!

This follows upon an earlier email answering my request for information as he received it, which said that she would probably be sent back home on Thursday or Friday, and if I really wanted information, I could phone the hospital directly as our older brother was doing. I really didn’t need “attitude” from my brother. He has a way of taking the simplest of requests and twisting my words, just giving the dagger another shove. I am just about ready to say, when asked, “I only have one brother. I had another, once, but he is no longer kin.” However, in the face of this most recent communication from him, I can try to let go my feelings of hurt in face of the greater joy of knowing my mother is back home.

In the meanwhile, the roofers have been hard at work, creating lots of noise and lots of mess. Most of the shingles have been replaced and the roof looks so much better.

Ed came over to bring me a gift from his journey to points south, a very small bag in which I can barely fit my hand containing a piece of unpolished agate with two facing figures of Kokopelli stenciled thereupon. It’s adorable and I am flattered that he thinks of me.

We sat in the kitchen and drank tea and talked. Hubby asked me to take care of the flat tire on the Volvo, so I called CAA and then Ed and I waited outside for the truck to come and put on the spare. We also watched the roofers do their schtick, one of whom was quite easy on the eyes, shirtless and muscled as he was. When all that excitement was over, we returned to the kitchen, had more tea, and then he left with talk of doing lunch sometime.

After I returned to the kitchen, I found Hubby with a very strange expression on his face. I asked him what the problem was, and he said that he found it very weird that a young man would come over and spend the afternoon with his wife. Okay, it’s weird. So what? Ed thinks of me as his friend, and I am flattered that he does. I don’t know if Hubby is more weirded out by the fact that my friend is male, or less than half my age, or a combination of the two. It doesn’t bother me.

Anyway, after a glorious day, the clouds moved in and the rain fell. Seriously, what else is new?




|

<~~~ * ~~~>