Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Effekt is effectively ended.

Thursday, Aug. 21, 2008
10:44 p.m.
It’s the end of an era. My daughter’s band played its very last gig this evening at the Java to a sizable and enthusiastic audience of friends and family. I feel a bitter-sweetness about all of this. Little Princess and her BF are moving to the bustling metropolis of Toronto, the keyboardist is moving to Montreal to play with his ska band there, the drummer has been commuting from Montreal for a year now and will probably be happy to quit, the bass player has another band that he plays with, and the singer, Ed, is pursuing a degree in psychology. They got a grant from the city of Sh’brooke a couple of years ago to produce a record, and their CD was on sale tonight as well. I admit, though, that by the end of the show my ears were on the verge of bleeding.

Little Princess came out with me today so I could buy the ingredients I need to finish making pesto. I’m really going to miss her. I was telling the mother of the keyboardist that Buddy Boy’s empty space at the kitchen table was filled many nights by his sister’s friends, often her son being one of them. Now it’ll just be Hubby and me looking at each other across the table. Maybe we can take a leaf out now.

Tomorrow marks our 26th wedding anniversary. The kids seem to have other plans, so it looks like it’ll be just us grownups for supper. I tried to guilt them, saying that he and I will have lots and lots of occasions to dine alone together, but our kids won’t be around much longer. I don’t think it worked. Ah well.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>