Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Just like old times!

Tuesday, Aug. 21, 2007
10:21 p.m.
It was a glorious day today, taken up with totally mundane tasks. Costco relieved me of over $200, part of which covered a couple of pairs of jeans (one of which I have to return as they’re too small), underwear and socks for Buddy Boy, and the rest went for food, glorious food. My cleaning lady was here and did a lovely job. Let’s just hope it stays that way till the weekend.

Since Buddy Boy is on his way out and I am no fool, I’ve been cooking his favourite dishes, just so he knows how good he has it chez Mom. Last night I made burritos with veggie ground round, one of his all-time favourites, and tonight I made lasagne with homemade ricotta and spinach. I used to think that I was saving money making my own ricotta, but with the price of lemons, I’m beginning to think that I was deluded. Oh well. It sure is creamier and tastier than the store bought kind.

The other day, as Suzie was trying to sneak into the house while I was trying to keep him from doing so, I accidentally stepped on his paw, and he has been avoiding me ever since. Not that it was my fault: he just got underfoot and didn’t give me any room to maneuver. He has been particularly persistent lately about entering our abode. I have a theory that he does it knowing that we will pick him up and put him back outside, and he lives for those few seconds of being picked up. Of course, that may be totally wrong. He probably just wants to get inside so he can rub his scent glands all over our furniture.

Last night Hubby and I went to the observatory where Little Princess and one of her colleagues conducted a viewing of the heavens. We saw four of Jupiter’s many moons, M13, which is a globular cluster, a binary star system in Cygnus (a red and a blue, very cool looking) and the famous Ring Nebula. The university’s telescope is not as powerful as the one Hubby bought many years ago, but it has an equatorial mount and the computer keeps it tracking the celestial body under investigation. It inspired Hubby to consider getting something done about his sizeable piece of equipment (I know that sounds worse than it is) which is unused in a shed in the backyard, all because of the cheap materials used in its construction. The 16" lens is formidable, but the tube is made from cardboard and the base from particle board which has swollen up from moisture and is unusable.

My mother phoned me today to wish me a happy anniversary, and I had to remind her that my anniversary is actually tomorrow. She said, “Isn’t your anniversary on the 21st?” and I replied, “No, your anniversary is on the 21st of December, mine is on the 22nd of August.” So I told her she was welcome to call me again tomorrow to wish me a happy anniversary all over again. I’ll be seeing her soon enough, come Friday.

Speaking of which, a friend from our university days called to confirm that he and his wife will be there on Friday, and I got an email from another friend of the same era whose wife wanted to know what she should wear. I’m still anxious about this affair, but now I think we’re going to have a lot of fun as well. Hubby’s old roommates will be here, as well as his old guitar teacher. It’ll be just like old times.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>