Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We ought to have our own contests.

Saturday, Apr. 21, 2007
8:43 a.m.
I could not update last night (no one could update last night; I shouldn’t feel as though the Powers-That-Be here in this virtual library of collected anthologies of ramblings and rantings had singled me out for harsh and unnecessarily cruel punishment), so I did other things, including post a limerick to Writersc0.com, a site I recently joined which purportedly encourages budding and aspiring writers. First the limerick:
A writer kept eyeing the clock,
Afflicted with bad writer’s block.
     As the minutes ticked by,
     He let loose a sigh,
Then decided to go for a walk.

When I first joined this hallowed joint (Diaryland, that is), I think I expected more interaction between the various participants. I know that I tried to start discussions, and some others did too, but we have all become like the members of my bother’s kibbutz: insular, cocooning, anti-social. So, while not abandoning this place because I really do like it here, I have been seeking out different places online where interaction is actually encouraged.

Writersc0.c0m is one such place. However, the general level of writership I’m finding there is rather disappointing. I don’t claim to be a great penman myself, my training is in music, not literature. Yet, I can’t help but find the word “emo” rising to my lips when I read much of the poetry and prose posted. Do children not learn how to write in school anymore? What is being taught in the public educational system? It seems as though spelling, grammar, syntax and penmanship have all fallen by the wayside, not to mention good taste. I know that music and art have bitten the dust in many schools. So, what are they being replaced with? Don’t answer. I think I already know.

But with computers being distributed to students by the school boards (they’re getting great deals from AppIe, don’t you know), these same children are not learning how to actually communicate anymore. I would direct you to tomorrow’s F0r Better 0r for W0rse cartoon, but it’s not online yet.

Anyway, yesterday being the famed 4/20, my kids were off last night getting drunk and debauched (and stoned, lest we forget), so Hubby and I ate on the terrace at the Lion, enjoying the spring weather. The place was jumping and the kitchen was slow, so the sun had finally set by the time our food came and we ended up eating it quickly before it (and we) got too cold. I leave you with a sight for sore eyes:



|

<~~~ * ~~~>