Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No time to say �hello, goodbye�, I�m late!

Friday, Aug. 20, 2004
3:42 p.m.
I�ve only got a minute kiddies, so I�d better make this fast. We have invited our friends A. and S. over for dinner tonight with Vlad and her husband, since this is probably the last time we will see the former before they move to Antigonish. Of course my house is a pig sty and we have managed to make it appear habitable with what they used to call �a lick and a promise�, whatever that means. The menu (for those of you interested in these culinary data) is: baguette and French cheeses for before, cold cucumber soup, multi-bean salad (from M��sew��d), wild-rice pilaf with dried cranberries and oranges (it was supposed to be cherries, but Vlad is allergic [gasp!] to raw thin-skinned fruit), saut�ed broccoli and carrots with pine nuts and garlic, a mesclun salad with avocado and garden-ripened tomatoes (at last!), and for dessert chocolate mousse flavoured with orange liqueur. It better be good because I�m starving!

Tomorrow the man and I are taking off to Quebec City in our newly-repaired car which we picked up this morning (it looks fantastic; Normand buffed it all over with some kind of compound and it just gleams in the sunlight) for a dirty anniversary weekend (if I still have my period it�ll be really dirty!) and to see the Picasso exhibit at the Mus�e de Qu�bec. At short notice I managed to book two nights at a B&B in old Quebec, but we have to change rooms because they were each available for only one of the nights I asked for. It has a free municipal lot right next door and is only a 12-minute walk from the museum. Hoorah!

When I finish here, I�m hopping in the car to photocopy some music for Vlad, who has agreed to accompany me on the faculty recital next month. I thought it would be nice to do some Warlock songs. They�re the kind of things I regularly give my students, and it would be good for them to hear their teacher perform them. While at the school, I also want to drop off the peace lily I planted in a mended pot in the main office with an anniversary card for our �former� friends the Duchess and her consort. For the past many years we have celebrated our anniversaries together, since they are on the same date (they have a year on us). Because of the unfortunate uncomfortableness that has arisen of late, we are not doing so. As a matter of fact, I have not spoken to the Duchess since the beginning of the unpleasantness, and I am quite loathe to call her and have it out, so to speak. But I think my gift speaks volumes, and hopefully they will make the effort to show us that they have not changed, although they have, as have we. Damn you, Henry James!


from tcklyrpharsn :

aww...here's hoping the peace lily makes its intended effect.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>