Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Would you like some phlegm with that?

Monday, Oct. 20, 2008
9:55 p.m.
My head still hurts. I’m convinced it is related to my neck somehow. I have an appointment with the campus doctor for Wednesday morning before I teach, so maybe she’ll have some words of wisdom for me.

It’s getting colder and winter is not far off. The leaves have lost their brilliance and are rapidly vacating the branches, littering lawns and gutters, piling up next to curbs and getting stuck in windshield wipers. It’ll be time to rake again soon. At least I got the pine needles, which totally ruin the grass. The night-time temperatures are below zero and it doesn’t get very warm during the day.

I taught one of my private students today, a tenor who is recovering from a really bad cold. While the worst of it is over, he’s full of mucous, and was clearing his throat and having to leave to go to the bathroom to hork every 15 minutes or so. It was particularly annoying because today’s lesson was on head resonance, and he had very little considering the amount of crud blocking all his passages. Still, he managed to get an idea of what I was trying to get him to do, and we both felt that his money was well spent in the end.

Writing group is finished for the season. Janice got the call that her daughter’s baby is on its way, and I got the call from Patsy and made my own calls to the people on my list. Hopefully I will not stop writing as I usually do when writing group is on hold. But my next month is going to be very stressful, and I’ll no doubt need the creative outlet.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>