Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Oom pah pah, oom pah pah, that’s how it goes.

Saturday, Oct. 20, 2007
10:08 p.m.
The weather is again unusually balmy; even tonight, walking back to our car just a few minutes ago from a night at the theatre, I remarked to an acquaintance how mild it is. He said he felt sorry for the polar bears, and in truth, so do I. But I am enjoying this unquestionably unseasonable October.

Earlier today I drove Little Princess into town where we picked up her friend Ollie and a pirate sword she had ordered online from the pharmacy postal counter. It’s really quite a piece of work, with a curved blade that comes to a wicked point and rather sharp edges. At least this one comes with its own scabbard, which I hope it will remain inside.

We also spent a few minutes wandering around the United Church basement where a massive rummage sale was taking place. I found two pairs of shoes that actually fit me, but I really, really don’t need any more shoes, especially not brown suede pointed toes with stiletto heels, no matter how cute they looked on me and no matter that they were practically giving them away. Also, I realized after standing in them for one minute that after two minutes I would be in agony. Ollie bought a chocolate cream pie at the bake sale table on our way out, and we brought it home with us and had some as dessert after lunch.

The children (are they still children when they’re in their early 20’s?) proceeded to make pirate tricorne hats from brown felt, using a pattern they’d found on the internet. Little Princess used the fake hair I saved from my Dominican corn rows to make hair extension dangles, decorating them with beads and coins and other fun things. I made myself an eyepatch.

The occasion is a pirate-themed cabaret that the music students are holding tomorrow night. I don’t need to dress up, but it’s fun, and I enjoy making craft items. I even went so far as to make the fold over flaps for Ollie’s boots, and I polished them, too, which was probably above and beyond the call of duty.

He left later in the afternoon, forgetting his pie behind him, which meant that Little Princess and I delivered it to him on our way to the studio theatre where the drama department was putting on Indian Bl00d, a really cute play about family and a young boy growing up in post-war Buffalo. One of my former singing students played the grandmother and was very fine. This is a good bunch, and they’ll all be graduating come spring. Ah well. That’s how it goes.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>